ON THE LEGAL SIDE OF Prof FUNMILAYO ADESANYA-DAVIES’ CASE VERSUS SHELL/SPDC/RENAISSANCE/SNCPFA & PRIMARY PENSIONER
THE LEGAL SIDE: WHAT DOES THE LAW AND THE RETIREMENT SCHEME SAY ABOUT A SPOUSE’S MEDICAL AND WELFARE BENEFITS AFTER RETIREMENT?
The controversy involving Professor Funmilayo Adesanya-Davies and Shell Petroleum Development Company of Nigeria Ltd. (SPDC), Renaissance Africa Energy, the Shell Nigeria Closed Pension Fund Administrator (SNCPFA), and the primary pensioner has entered a critical legal and administrative phase.
At the centre of the dispute is a fundamental question:
«Can a spouse who was recognised under an employer’s medical and welfare arrangements during the employee’s service and retirement be unilaterally removed from those benefits simply upon the instruction of the primary pensioner, particularly where the applicable retirement and welfare terms may provide continuing benefits for spouses at retirement?»

Professor Adesanya-Davies says this question cannot properly be answered by simply stating that the primary pensioner requested her de-registration.
The real legal issue is whether the primary pensioner had the contractual and legal authority to make such a request effective, and whether SNCPFA was entitled to implement it in the circumstances.
THE PENGASSAN DIMENSION
Particular attention is being drawn to the published material concerning PENGASSAN and the medical and welfare terms applicable to spouses at retirement at SPDC/Renaissance.
The material referenced by Professor Adesanya-Davies is intended to raise an important distinction between:
the pensioner’s personal pension entitlement and the separate medical/welfare arrangements applicable to an eligible spouse at retirement.
That distinction is legally significant.
If the applicable industrial agreement, company policy, pensioner welfare arrangement or retirement terms expressly recognise a spouse as entitled to medical or welfare benefits after retirement, the question becomes whether that entitlement can subsequently be extinguished merely by a unilateral request from the primary pensioner.
The referenced PENGASSAN material should therefore be examined alongside the actual governing documents, rather than relying solely upon an administrative explanation.
THE CENTRAL LEGAL QUESTION
The case is not simply about a husband, wife, separation or divorce.
It concerns the legal relationship between:
- the primary pensioner;
- the recognised spouse/beneficiary;
- the employer or successor employer;
- the pension administrator; and
- the rules governing post-retirement medical and welfare benefits.
The critical questions include:
- What were the terms applicable to spouses at retirement?
- Was Professor Adesanya-Davies an eligible spouse under those terms?
- Was her status as a beneficiary dependent upon the continuing consent of the primary pensioner?
- If so, where is that condition contained in the applicable rules?
- If not, what provision authorised her removal?
- Was she given notice before her benefit was terminated?
- Was she given an opportunity to challenge or respond to the proposed de-registration?
- Did the administrator independently verify the legal effect of the primary pensioner’s request?
These are matters that should be answered by the actual scheme rules, employment agreements, collective agreements, retirement policies and other governing instruments.
“THE PENSIONER REQUESTED HER REMOVAL” IS NOT NECESSARILY THE END OF THE LEGAL ANALYSIS
Professor Adesanya-Davies acknowledges the position communicated by SNCPFA that her de-registration followed an express request from the primary pensioner.
However, from a legal perspective, that explanation raises another question:
«What provision gives the primary pensioner the power to terminate another person’s established entitlement?»
There is an important difference between having the power to make a request and having the legal power to determine another beneficiary’s entitlement.
A pension administrator may receive an instruction, but the administrator must still act within the governing rules of the scheme.
The fundamental issue is therefore not merely whether an instruction was received, but whether that instruction was legally sufficient to produce the result that followed.
RETIREMENT BENEFITS AND SPOUSAL RIGHTS
Retirement schemes commonly distinguish between benefits belonging personally to the retiree and benefits or protections relating to spouses and dependants.
The existence and extent of such protections depend on the particular governing scheme. For example, retirement systems in different jurisdictions expressly provide protections for spouses in particular circumstances, demonstrating why the precise governing rules—not merely an individual’s instruction—must be examined.
Accordingly, Professor Adesanya-Davies is not asking that a foreign pension system be applied to her case. Rather, the broader principle is that the actual rules governing the particular SPDC/Renaissance arrangement must determine the rights of the parties.
WHAT ABOUT DIVORCE?
Another important legal question concerns the effect of marital status.
If divorce proceedings have been commenced or a divorce has subsequently been granted, the legal consequences for medical and welfare benefits cannot simply be assumed.
The relevant question is:
«What did the applicable SPDC/Renaissance/PENGASSAN or pensioner welfare terms provide concerning the status of a spouse at retirement and the circumstances in which that status could cease?»
If the benefit was expressly conditional upon the existence of a valid marriage, the governing terms should say so.
If termination depends upon a divorce decree, that should also be established.
If the scheme contains a different mechanism, that mechanism should be identified and followed.
The governing document must speak.
DUE PROCESS AND ADMINISTRATIVE FAIRNESS
Professor Adesanya-Davies further questions whether an affected beneficiary should be removed from an established medical-benefit arrangement without adequate notification and an opportunity to challenge the decision where the governing rules contemplate such procedural safeguards.
This is particularly important where access to medical care may be affected.
The issue is not whether an administrator can correct an inaccurate record or terminate an ineligible person’s participation.
The issue is whether a person who was previously recognised as eligible was removed in accordance with the applicable rules and through a legally defensible process.
WHY THE PENGASSAN DOCUMENT MATTERS
The PENGASSAN material referenced by Professor Adesanya-Davies is important because it directs attention to the question of “medical and welfare terms for spouses at retirement.”
If the applicable collective or industrial agreement formed part of the framework governing retirement benefits at SPDC/Renaissance, then its precise wording may be relevant to determining:
- who qualifies as a spouse;
- when eligibility arises;
- whether eligibility continues after retirement;
- whether the primary pensioner controls the spouse’s status;
- circumstances permitting termination;
- the effect of separation or divorce; and
- the respective responsibilities of the employer, pension administrator and pensioner.
The referenced article is available here: “PENGASSAN: Medical and Welfare Terms for Spouses at Retirement at SPDC/Renaissance” (https://reference-url-citation.invalid/1)
However, the article itself should not be treated as the final legal authority. The original PENGASSAN agreement, company policy, pensioner handbook, medical-benefit rules and other contractual documents should be obtained and examined.
THE FIVE DOCUMENTS THAT COULD ANSWER THE CASE
Professor Adesanya-Davies believes that much of the dispute could be clarified by producing five categories of documents:
- The applicable PENGASSAN/SPDC collective agreement or retirement terms.
- The SPDC/Renaissance pensioner medical and welfare policy applicable at the relevant time.
- The rules governing eligibility and de-registration of spouses.
- The specific authority relied upon by SNCPFA to remove Professor Adesanya-Davies.
- The actual request and supporting documentation submitted by the primary pensioner.
Once these documents are placed side by side, the central legal question should become substantially clearer.
PROFESSOR ADESANYA-DAVIES’ POSITION
Professor Adesanya-Davies maintains that she is not asking Shell/SPDC/Renaissance/SNCPFA to confer a benefit upon her outside the rules.
Her position is that if the applicable rules created or recognised an entitlement, that entitlement should not be extinguished without identifying the specific legal or contractual provision authorising its termination.
She therefore seeks:
TRANSPARENCY.
DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE.
DUE PROCESS.
EQUAL APPLICATION OF THE RULES.
AND A LAWFUL DETERMINATION OF HER STATUS.
THIS IS BIGGER THAN ONE PERSON
The implications of this dispute potentially extend beyond Professor Adesanya-Davies.
Thousands of retirees and their spouses may reasonably ask:
«What happens to a spouse’s medical and welfare benefits when the primary pensioner changes his or her position after retirement?»
Can a benefit recognised under retirement arrangements be removed by a simple instruction?
Does divorce automatically terminate every retirement-related medical or welfare entitlement?
Who has the final authority—the pensioner, the employer, the pension administrator, or the governing scheme?
These questions deserve clear answers based upon the actual contractual and regulatory framework.
A CALL FOR RESPONSIBLE RESOLUTION
Professor Adesanya-Davies calls upon Shell/SPDC, Renaissance Africa Energy, SNCPFA and the primary pensioner to approach the matter as a legal and administrative question rather than merely a private matrimonial dispute.
She requests that the relevant parties identify the precise contractual, policy or scheme provision relied upon for her de-registration.
If the parties disagree about the interpretation of those provisions, the appropriate regulatory or judicial forum can determine the matter.
CONCLUSION
The legal side of the Funmilayo Adesanya-Davies versus Shell/SPDC/Renaissance/SNCPFA & Primary Pensioner matter ultimately comes down to one fundamental principle:
«A person’s established benefit should be terminated on the basis of the governing law and applicable contractual terms—not merely on the strength of an assumption that one individual has unrestricted authority over another person’s entitlement.»
Professor Adesanya-Davies therefore remains committed to pursuing the matter through lawful administrative, regulatory and judicial channels, if necessary.
She is seeking neither special treatment nor privilege.
She is asking a simple legal question:
“SHOW ME THE RULE THAT AUTHORISED MY REMOVAL.”
Until that question is answered by reference to the applicable PENGASSAN, SPDC/Renaissance, pensioner medical and welfare terms and other governing documents, Professor Adesanya-Davies maintains that the controversy remains a legitimate matter for legal examination.
Retirement should preserve dignity.
Benefits should be governed by rules.
And where a benefit is withdrawn, the legal authority for doing so should be transparent.
*Issued on behalf of *Prof. Funmilayo Adesanya-Davies, PhD, Professor of Applied Linguistics
Former Presidential Candidate, Public Affairs Analyst, Gender and Social Policy Advocate
By
Barr. Bunmi Akaakar, LLB, BL
Legal Practitioner and Labour Policy Consultant Energy and Natural Resources Law and Lecturer of Petroleum Law



